Golf Bucks County

By Bob Oliver

Middletown Country Club

Middletown is a compact 80 acres of challenging golf, with rolling hills and large specimen trees that have watched many golfers travel its fairways over time. It has retained its old time feel with tees and greens in close proximity, allowing golfers to walk the course if they choose.

The Traveling Golfer

With host Tony Leodora will travel both near and far to bring viewers a look at some of the most spectacular golf destinations in the world!


2018 Cavalcade of Champions

Written by Bob Oliver on .

The weather may be awful for golf, but 2018 saw a storm of great golf in Bucks County. 

Highlighting play were the often rain-delayed club championships. In between the raindrops area players garnered prestigious club championships.

Here's a familiar name: Glenn Smeraglio. The local stalwart claimed the LuLu Country Club's men's title, adding to a career which has seen him win men's titles at Yardley (9), Mercer Oaks (2) and Commonwealth National. Like fine wine, Smeraglio gets better with age. Friend Terry Sawyer claimed the senior men's title. 

Another familiar champion again excelled at Northampton Valley Country Club, Jonathan Radick, who won for the eighth time. Jeff Hilton added a senior men's title. 

Ryan Pfeifer successfully defended his men's crown and has three overall, while Keith Wilson took home the senior men's title. Ron Davis was the super senior men's winner while Liz Wojcik claimed the women's title.

Dan Charen successfully defended his Makefield Highlands men's title, while Rich Driscoll claimed the senior crown and Bob Woods the super senior title. 

Another repeat winner was Griffin Smith at Jericho National, where Mike Cavanaugh claimed another senior men's crown and Joan Redeyoff the women's championship. 

Dave Gardener won his fifth men's crown at Middletown, while WD Horan added the senior title and Ed Congdon the super senior title. At Yardley Mike Lam won the men's crown and Greg Buliga the senior men's title as Samantha Krier took the women's title. 


Bucks Club: Curt Biehn (men), Fred Porter (senior men), Janice Visconto (women).

Doylestown: Russell Hartung (men) Rick Payne (senior men), Peter DiMaggio (super senior men), Maggie Sivak (women).

Five Ponds: Neil Gordon (men), Brian Rothaus (senior men), Drew Endy (super senior men), Chrissy Palmeri (women). 

Lookaway: Mike Anton (men), Mark Hutchinson (senior men), Martha Robinson (women). 

Trenton: ANdy Strock (men), Mike Moonan (senior men), Denise Viola (women).

Spring Mill: Bryan Keeling (men), Ron Zemnick (super senior), Kathleen O'Dell (women). 

Other notable wins were recorded by Neshaminy grad Fred Snow, who claimed the Stonewall men's crown.